Outline of the book of Revelation


1.   Chapter 1 – Christ is who brings about all the events of this book.

2.   Chapter 2 and 3 – The church age.

3.   Chapter 4 and 5 – Praise to God for Jesus Christ who has brought salvation and will bring judgment.

4.   Chapter 6 – The opening of the first 6 seals.

Intermission # 1: Chapter 7 – Before the opening of the 7th seal, there is a record given of all the Jews and Gentiles who are saved during the tribulation.

5.   Chapter 8:1-6 – The opening of the 7th seal, which reveals 7 trumpets which will sound.

6.   Chapter 8:7-9:21 – The sounding of the first 6 trumpets.

7.   Chapter 8:13 – Three woes are pronounced upon the earth.

1)      Chapter 9:1-12 – The first woe is the sounding of the 5th trumpet.  (see 9:12)

2)      Chapter 9:13-21 – The second woe is the sounding of the 6th trumpet, (see 11:14), the seven thunders, and an intermission where John is informed he must prophesy again, and the explanation of the two witnesses, who prophesy during the 1st half of the Great Tribulation. 

3)      Chapter 11:15 – The third woe is the sounding of the 7th trumpet, and the pouring out of the golden vials of the wrath of God.

Intermission # 2: Chapter 10:1-11:14

Chapter 10:1-7 – The seven thunders utter their voices when the 7th trumpet is sounded, but John is told to not write what they utter.

Chapter 10:8-11 – It is explained to John that he must prophesy again.

Chapter 11:1-14 – The two witness give their testimony during the 1st  year period of the tribulation period, then die for their testimony.

8.   Chapter 11:15-19 – The 7th angel sounds his trumpet and this earth is declared to belong to Christ.  When the 7th angel sound, the way is prepared for the seven thunders, and the seven golden vials of God’s wrath, which will be poured out on the earth.

Intermission # 3: - Chapter 12-15

Chapter 12 – An explanation of the history of Israel and how Satan has tried to defeat Christ.

Chapter 13 – An explanation of the history of the Anti-Christ and how Satan has worked long and hard to bring about his doomed kingdom.

Chapter 14 – Praise and honor is given to God because he is victorious over Satan and his kingdom.

Chapter 15 – A view of those that have died under Satan’s persecution during the tribulation period, and a brief glimpse into the glory of God as he delivers the seven golden vials full of his wrath.

9.   Chapter 16 – The pouring out of the seven golden vials of God’s wrath on the earth.

Intermission # 4: - The mourning of sinner and the rejoicing of saints occur at the same time over the same events.

Chapter 17 – An explanation of the great whore and how she is destroyed.

Chapter 18 – The people of the earth mourn over the destruction of pagan Babylon.

Chapter 19:1-10 – The people of God rejoice because of his victories.

10.  Chapter 19:11-21 – Jesus returns to the earth as victor.

11.  Chapter 20:1-15 – Satan is bound 1,000 years, and the lost who have died are judged at the Great White Throne Judgment.

12.  Chapter 21 – The new heaven and the new earth; the bride, and the holy city, New Jerusalem.

13.  Chapter 22 – Eternity begins with a final plea for lost people to repent and believe, to prepare for that final day.